//
you're reading...
Chicago North Side

Buy Local, Chicago style

By Jon Cecero

I found Local First Chicago, a website about buying from local businesses in Chicago, on twitter after following eco-Andersonville. I found their website interesting and their twitter page engaging. For example, they do a good job promoting events and have branded themselves on the importance of buying locally to help a local neighborhood economy thrive.

This twitter post especially caught my eye:

Local First Chicago ‏@local1stchicago

What Does the Affordable Care Act Mean for Small Business? – Chicago Happenings – April 2013 http://RCHM.CO/m/x7ic7 

Why I liked it

It did a good job taking timely news and using it to their advantage. They made it relatable to their brand, while at the same time making it engaging for their readers.

What I don’t like about Local First Chicago

I thought their website was a little archaic and I think they missed an ideal opportunity by not covering specific businesses with fun journalistic type stories. They have over 1,700 followers and they can easily increase it by creating their own unique content. I think if they only post links to community events and little descriptions of the events, their readers will get bored. They could lose out on engagement and even followers.

About jonathancecero

Hi there, My name is Jon Cecero and I am a global journalist and communication professional specializing in all forms of multi-media. I have several years experience as a reporter, producer, and photographer. He has worked for numerous media outlets including Thomson Reuters, Fox Sports, Missouri Digital News, and NBC affiliate KOMU-TV. I have also worked abroad in Brussels, Belgium and Prague, Czech Republic. I am a dedicated journalist and media professional who is organized, focused and goal oriented. I graduated from the University of Missouri with a Bachelor’s of Journalism. Currently, I am pursuing my Master's degree at DePaul University in Chicago.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

